FRIDAY, APRIL 19, 2024
Thursday, 06 March, 2014 06:57

Memphis in May Grand Champions

We have received many inquiries over the last couple years on the subject of past Memphis in May World Championship Barbecue Cooking Contest winners.  No one could find a full complete list anywhere on the Internet.  Fear not friends, we researched and now we bring you the list of Grand Champions; broken down by year, name, and category cooked…Enjoy!

1978    Bessie Lou Cathey                                  Ribs

1979    Don Burdison                                           Ribs

1980    John Wills                                                 Ribs

1981     John Wills                                                 Ribs

1982    Martec Coaters                                        Ribs

1983    Willingham’s River City Rooters        Ribs

1984    Willingham’s River City Rooters        Ribs

1985    Holy Smokers Too                                 Whole Hog

1986    Pig Iron Porkers                                      Whole Hog

1987    Cajun Country Cookers                        Whole Hog

1988    Holy Smokers Too                                 Whole Hog

1989    Super Swine Sizzlers                              Whole Hog

1990    Apple City Barbecue                             Ribs

1991    David Cox Barbecue Team                 Ribs

1992    Apple City Barbecue                              Ribs

1993    The Other Side                                         Shoulder

1994    Apple City Barbecue                             Ribs

1995    Rebel Roaster Revue                            Shoulder

1996    PyroPigmaniacs                                       Ribs

1997    Wildfire Gourmet Cooking Team     Ribs

1998    The Other Team                                       Ribs

1999    Custom Cookers                                       Whole Hog

2000   Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q                       Shoulder

2001   Jack’s Old South                                       Whole Hog

2002   PyroPigmaniacs                                        Ribs

2003   Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q                        Shoulder

2004   Jack’s Old South                                       Whole Hog

2005   Gwatney Championship BBQ              Whole Hog

2006   Red Hot Smokers                                     Shoulder

2007   Jack’s Old South                                       Whole Hog

2008   Natural Born Grillers                             Whole Hog

2009   Sweet Swine O’Mine                                Shoulder

2010   Yazoo’s Delta Q                                         Whole Hog

2011   Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q                        Shoulder

2012   Yazoo’s Delta Q                                          Whole Hog

2013   Sweet Swine O’Mine                                Shoulder

2014 Big Bob Gibson Bar-B-Q                           Shoulder

Leave a Reply

BBQ Fest Countdown


Subscribe to TSTP

Subscribe to our E-mail newsletters and get updates about contests and our plans for Memphis in May.